The image “” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.


National Issues

Hunter and Rodriguez Nominated for the Election Assistance Commission PDF  | Print |  Email
By Warren Stewart, VoteTrustUSA   
January 11, 2007

The White House has officially submitted two nominations for the Election Assistance Commission. Caroline Hunter has been nominated to replace outgoing chair Paul DeGregorio and Rosemary Rodriguez has been nominated to replace Ray Martinez, whose position has vacant since his resignation last summer.


Ms. Hunter is currently Deputy Director of Public Liason at the White House and has served as legal council to the Republican National Committee. Ms. Rodiguez has served as clerk/recorder in Denver, Colorado and more recently as a memeber of the Denver City Council.


While there was speculation that the vacancies on the Commission would be filled with recess appointments, their nomination while Congress is in session will allow for a full confirmation process through the Senate Rules Committee. Given the significance of the Commission's role in the election process, full Senate confirmation hearings will provide an opportunity for a public discussion of the Commission's objectives and direction in the future. 

Comment on This Article
You must login to leave comments...
Other Visitors Comments
You must login to see comments...
< Prev   Next >
National Pages
Federal Government
Federal Legislation
Help America Vote Act (HAVA)
Election Assistance Commission (EAC)
Federal Election Commission
Department of Justice - Voting Section
Non-Government Institutions
Independent Testing Authority
The Election Center
Carter Baker Commission
Voting System Standards
Electoral College
Open Source Voting System Software
Proposed Legislation
Voting Rights
Campaign Finance
Overseas/Military Voting
Electronic Verification
: mosShowVIMenu( $params ); break; } ?>